Paper flower backdrop!

Now if you’re on a budget but have a heck of a lot of time, this is the project for you!

I walked into West Elm in Nashville, and saw the most beautiful and elaborate, paper flower display draping throughout the store. I just i knew I had to use it in some capacity.

Since I don’t have a 10 man staff or 500 hours of free time, I had to switch things up a bit.  I took their bold, firm paper flowers and instead made soft, crepe paper flowers in lilac, ivory and purple.  This was the general color scheme for my upcoming wedding, so I took it and ran with it.  Now anyone who’s shopped for crepe paper before knows, you can’t buy the stuff at Michael’s or JoAnn’s.  So I went here and ordered it online.  The staff was super helpful when I asked for their opinions on how much to order.

After finding a million patterns I was just okay with, I head to ol’ faithful, Martha Stewart, and found what I needed.  Since I didn’t have the time to make individual petals, I used her Continuous Petal Method and got to work.

With a little coaxing, wine and snacks, I got a little help.  All in all, I took my time doing it in stages over days. I made close to 300 flowers, and then strung them together.  The pole I bought was pretty ugly from the hardware store and you could see the tape from fastening two together, so wrapped some burlap ribbon around the pole and called it a day!

Image

I left the flowers “un-fluffed” until they were transported carefully to the venue.  Then with three great assistants, we got it done quickly. Wha-la!  We were able to use it twice during the day.  Once behind the ceremony and then again behind their sweetheart table for the reception.  It was such a delight as I watched guests take pictures in from of it, as it was truly a beautiful backdrop!

Image
Image
Image

Stay tuned over the next weeks for the blog post with the official photos from the photographer … not my iphone 😉

For more fun wedding flower inspiration, visit my pinterest page and follow me!

Leave a Reply

