Honeymoon/Vaca Packing List

Today’s post is inspired by my own little getaway that I have to pack for … because you can pack for a honeymoon or a trip and you’re going to want the same stuff, just sometimes you have to account for swap outs depending on destination.  My two brides honeymooning in Alaska will want to swap out things like “swimsuit” for “parka”, and “high heels” for “hiking boots”.  See what I mean?  Still need the same equivalent of “stuff”.

I know this is something that you can just google and people will give you their two cents, but my list is worth a buck fiddy.  Why?  Because it’s REALISTIC.  I did a little perusing on the inter-web and saw that people said things like “pack 2 dresses” – ‘scuse me?  That is cray cray.  Now if you know me, you know I hate pants, so I will wear a dress every day of the week if I can, but that’s not realistic for you.  However, I do believe you wear a few more dresses on a honeymoon than every day life. This is a list for the average girl.  Some people definitely need less, and we all can’t travel in Rachel Zoe fashion (below), but by all means, modify for you. I am basing this on a tropical honeymoon since it’s most typical.

DownloadedFile

Plus I’m throwing in a little list for your man, because I always end up packing my husband’s bag for him now, because a) he doesn’t understand the concept of being spacially aware, and b) one time we were in Mexico and he only brought golf shirts.  This from a former New Yorker with great fashion sense. I could’ve died.

MUST HAVES/CARRY-ON
tickets/itinerary/hotel confirmation/emergency contact’s names/numbers
travel books/guides
passport/driver’s license/visa
some currency of where you’re traveling to (get from bank or travel agency)
2 different credit card – split up b/w you two in case one gets stolen
aspirin & meds – may want this on the airplane!
condoms
condoms (just bring more)
camera & charger/battery
ipod/ipad/kindle/book & charger/headphones
protein bar & candy (maybe that’s just me)
hand sanitizer

HER
1-2 pants – one jeans and one colored pants
1 neutral jacket
1-2 neutral cardigan
3 day or casual sundresses
2-3 nice dresses (LBD equivalent)
1-2 shorts or skirts
3 cute casual tops
1-2 nice going out tops
(if you hate dresses, swap number of dresses with shorts/tops)
work out clothes if you’re active/planning on hiking or activities
2-3 swimsuits
1 cover-up
1 flip flops for pools/walking
2 cute sandals
2 neutral heels (think black and nude, or gold and silver)
1 sneakers
3 purses total – 1 tote for airplane, 1 satchel for daytime, 1 clutch for nightime
socks, underwear, bras for all your different styles
lingerie.  just do it.
accessories: hat, sunglasses, scarf, earrings, necklaces, bracelets

FOR HIM
2 pants – nice jeans and khakis
3+ nice shirts for nightime
5 t-shirts/casual shirts
belt
1 sports coat and tie (optional)
2-3 shorts
workout clothes
2 swimsuit
1 sneakers
1 sandals
1 dress shoes
socks and boxers (guys, no holes in these, bring a new sexy pair)
cologne.  we like it, in not overwhelming doses
backpack

NON-OBVIOUS TOILETRIES/EXTRAS (I opted to leave out things like toothbrush, hope you can handle it)
a mini, nylon foldable tote for pool/extra items
sunscreen & chapstick (check where you’re going – in the DR sunscreen is $18/bottle!)
insect repellant/antihistamine
aloe if you’re a burner
hats
tampons – you never know, your hormones are all crazy, just bring some
tweezers
visine
hair dryer and conversion plug – not all intl places provide hairdryers
perfume

Let me know if I’ve missed any must-have’s that you love to bring with you! Always eager to find good tricks

Leave a Reply

