The Other Side.

I went to a baby shower on Sunday and got to do a complete roll reversal.  Normally I love to be involved in the planning process in any possible form, but this time, I got to sit back and relax.  Why?  Because this mama to be has more friends and loved ones than anyone I know.  Seriously.  I think within 1 month of announcing she was pregnant about 5 people said they wanted to throw her a baby shower.    I was a little late when I started asking how I could help when she was “only” 5 months along, not knowing that it was well in the works!

That said, there were about 7 people already involved in making this shower a success.  Doesn’t hurt that one of her bff’s is an awesome florist, Tenley Erin Young and she has a storage room full of decor that is drool worthy.  I was thrilled when one of the ladies asked me to make a guest book and table tents – done.  So when the soon-to-be-mama Jillian, a photographer, asked if we could go early to help set up, I almost smacked her!  Knowing that meant she would also want to take pictures (and that I have a very hard time sitting still), I decided to take on the job myself, not allowing her to do a thing but chat, open presents, and eat *ahem* four cupcakes (okay, they were mini ones!).

Since Jill and her husband Corey have already named their baby boy, Myers, I decided to make his monogram for the wall and have everyone sign it.  This way all of the couple’s friends and family would be looking over the baby every day.  I took these simple letters from Michael’s (the phone shows the size to scale).

Then I chose a few different simple easy to paint patterns for the letters.  The shower was green and grey colors, so I opted for a fun chartreuse.

Then I made a little sign and asked the guests to sign away!   

And wha-la!

All set for the baby’s new room 🙂  Enjoy the rest of the beautiful shower!

Leave a Reply

